Home  >  IMOCA championship races  >  Transat Jacques Vabre

Receive our newsletter

Signin now


We do not pass your email to ANY third parties.

Facebook Twitter RSS

Official Partner

  • Azimut Communication

Official Suppliers



IMOCA championship races

Transat Jacques Vabre

Organizer : Association Transat Jacques Vabre
Season : 2011 - 2012 Season, 2010 - 2011 Season
Scheduled start on : Sunday, October 30, 2011   13:00
Features : transat, double
Total number of milles : 4500
OSR Category : 0
Route : Le Havre - Puerto Limon
Transat Jacques Vabre
Organised every other year, the Transat Jacques Vabre is a transatlantic race open to monohulls and multihulls starting from Le Havre (France). Since its first edition in 1993, the race format has changed. Firstly reserved for solo sailors, since 1995 it has been raced by double-handed crews. The route has always been demanding, but has also changed over the years. The finish originally was in Carthagena (Colombia) from 1993 to 1999, then in Salvador da Bahia (Brazil) from 2001 to 2007, and finally in Puerto Limon (Costa Rica) in 2009.

Since the arrival of the IMOCA class in 2003, Jean-Pierre Dick has won it twice, first alongside Nicolas Abiven (in 2003), then with Loick Peyron (in 2005). The duos Michel Desjoyeaux / Emmanuel Le Borgne (in 2007) and Marc Guillemot / Charles Caudrelier Benac (in 2009) have also had their names noted down in the list of winners of the Transat Jacques Vabre in the IMOCA category.

This double-handed transatlantic race is today one of the major ocean racing classics and has become a must in the IMOCA circuit.


Legal information | Site map      ©2012-2019 Azimut Communication - Website design & Interactive kiosks  - design based on v1 by OC Sport