World Sailing is the world governing body for the sport of sailing, officially recognised by the International Olympic Committee (IOC).

World Sailing is responsible for:

  • The promotion of the sport internationally;
  • Managing sailing at the Olympic and Paralympic Games;
  • Developing the Racing Rules of Sailing and regulations for all sailing competitions;
  • The training of judges, umpires and other administrators;
  • The development of the sport around the world; and
  • Representing the sailors in all matters concerning the sport.

The MNAs are the national governing bodies for sailing around the world and the contact details for each authority can be found on the National Federations page.

Around 120 Class Associations are members of World Sailing which means they are entitled to hold a World Championship – more information about the different types of boat and board is available on the World Sailing Classes page.