Country FR

FRA 30

Baptismal nameThéophile Solo Sailor
ArchitectVPLP - Verdier
Construction2010, CDK Technologies
Launch date8/16/11


This particular IMOCA monohull has surely won the most accolades of her generation: designed in 2011 for François Gabart, she finished fourth in the Transat Jacques Vabre (with Sébastien Col), then won the BtoB return transatlantic race before taking the win in the Vendée Globe 2012-2013, then the Route du Rhum 2014.

Taken on by Paul Meilhat, the ex-Macif rechristened SMA has had an eventful life, particularly during the Transat Jacques Vabre with Michel Desjoyeaux, and above all on the way back in solo mode, the injured skipper having to abandon his boat. After quite an epic recovery, the monohull was returned to her former glory, finishing 4th in The Transat and the New York-Vendée, but during the Vendée Globe 2016-17, Paul Meilhat had to divert to Tahiti after breaking his keel ram. The brilliant skipper won the Route du Rhum 2018 ahead of 19 rivals, but has to part ways with his non-foiling VPLP Verdier design after SMA’s withdrawal. The boat belonging to Michel Desjoyeaux’ racing stable Mer Agitée is chartered to Banque Populaire for the young Clarisse Crémer. The latter secures 6th place in Brazil (with Armel Le Cléac’h) in 2019, then finishes 12th and first woman in the Vendée Globe 2020-21. After a few very quiet months, Benjamin Ferré bought the IMOCA with the aim of a first participation in the Vendée Globe 2024. In 2022, advised by Jean Le Cam, the IMOCA ‘debutant’ created quite a stir by finishing in 11th in the Guyader Bermudes 1000 Race, before an outstanding 4th place in the Vendée Arctique.

Length18,28 m
Beam5,40 m
Draught4,50 m
Weight7,7 tonnes
Mast height29 m
Mast typeWing mast
Sail area max.
Upwind250 m²

Sailing Highlights

2023: Transat Jacques Vabre - 13th
Défi Azimut-Lorient Agglomération - 14th
Rolex Fastnet Race - 15th
Guyader Bermudes 1000 Race - 9th
Route du Rhum - 15th
Défi Azimut - 11th

2022: Vendée Arctique - 4th
Guyader Bermudes 1000 Race - 11th
Vendée Globe - 12th (87d 02h 24m 25s)
Défi Azimut - 4th
2020: Vendée-Arctique-Les Sables d'Olonne - 12th
2019: Transant Jacques Vabre - C.Crémer - 6th
2019: Défi Azimut - C.Crémer - 6th
2019: Rolex Fastnet - C.Crémer - 3rd
2018: Route du Rhum - P.Meilhat - Winner
2018: Défi Azimut - P.Meilhat - 4th
2018: Monaco Globe Series - P.Meilhat - Winner
2018: Bermudes 1000 Race - P.Meilhat - Winner
2017: Transat Jacques Vabre - P.Meilhat - 2nd
2017: Défi Azimut - P.Meilhat - Winner
2017: Rolex Fastnet Race - P.Meilhat - Winner
2016-17: Vendée Globe - ABD
2016: Défi Azimut - P.Meilhat - 4th
2016: Transat NY-Vendée - P.Meilhat - 4th
2016: The Transat - P.Meilhat - 4th
2015: Transat Jacques Vabre - P.Meilhat - Retired
2014: Route du Rhum - F.Gabart - Winner
2013: Transat Jacques Vabre - F.Gabart - Retired
2012-13: Vendée Globe - F.Gabart - Winner
2011: Transat BtoB - F.Gabart - Winner
2011: Transat Jacques Vabre - F.Gabart - 4th