Country FR

FRA 50

Baptismal nameSARNIA
Construction2006, Nouvelle-Zélande
Launch date5/1/06


Built in 2006 for Swiss sailor Dominique Wavre, the former Temenos was designed by the British architectural firm Owen Clarke Design and finished 5th in the Route du Rhum 2006 then 3rd in the Barcelona Race 2007-2008 (with Michèle Paret).

Optimised for the Vendée Globe 2008, the monohull suffered keel issues offshore of Kerguelen and was retired from the race. Flying the flag of Mirabaud, the boat dismasted offshore of Argentina during the Barcelona World Race 2011 (with Michèle Paret). At that point, the singlehanded round the world race became Dominique Wavre’s primary objective and he finished in 7th place in 2013. American Rich Wilson renamed her Great America IV for his Vendée Globe 2016-2017 campaign, which he completed in 13th position after a hundred days at sea. Next up, the boat was bought by Irish skipper Enda O’Coineen, then Nicholas O’Leary before Miranda Merron took possession. With a tight budget, Campagne de France participates in the Transat Jacques Vabre and made landfall in Salvador de Bahia (with Halvard Mabire) in 23rd place, the boat having not been modified since 2010. Miranda Merron, whose ambition was to participate in the 2020 Vendée Globe, succeeded in her challenge and finished in 22nd place after 101 days of racing.

Length18,28 m
Beam5,50 m
Draught4,50 m
Weight8,5 tonnes
Mast height28 m
Mast typeClassic mast
Sail area max.
Upwind330 m2
Downwind600 m2

Sailing Highlights

2020-21: Vendée Globe - 22th (101d 08h 56min 51s) 
Défi Azimut - 17th
Vendée-Arctique-Les Sables d'Olonne - 17th
Transat Jacques Vabre - M.Merron - 23th
2019: Rolex Fastnet Race - M.Merron - 15th
2019: Bermudes 1000 Race - M.Merron - 13th
2016-17: Vendée Globe - R.Wilson - 13th
2012-13: Vendée Globe - D.Wavre - 7th
2011: Transat Jacques Vabre - D.Wavre - 8th
2010-11: Barcelona World Race - Retired
2008-09: Barcelona World Race - Retired

© François Van Malleghem / Défi Azimut
© Jean-Marie LIOT / defi Azimut
© François Van Malleghem / Imoca
© François Van Malleghem / Imoca
© Bertrand Duquenne
© Bertrand Duquenne
© François Van Malleghem / Imoca
© François Van Malleghem / Imoca