Home  >  About  >  IMOCA World Championship

Receive our newsletter

Signin now


We do not pass your email to ANY third parties.

Facebook Twitter RSS

Official Partner

  • Azimut Communication

Official Suppliers




IMOCA World Championship

IMOCA Globe Series World Championship


In June 2018, the IMOCA Ocean Master World Championship has been rechristened the IMOCA Globe Series World Championship. This new name reflects the desire to internationalise and further develop the circuit  – a circuit already recognised as the world’s foremost for shorthanded offshore racing.

This 4 years program (2018-2021) newly branded series is based on a number of world famous oceanic races in which, for several decades, the sporting endeavours and heroic achievements of its participants have, frequently, turned skippers into superstars. The Vendée Globe, Route du Rhum, Transat Jacques Vabre,...around the world, across the Atlantic, double-handed or solo, ….all of these challenging events attract a strong media following, and huge crowds at start and finish race villages.

A new World Champion every four years

A new format for the championship aims to tie together events in the series, growing its media value and enlarging its international fanbase, by improving the communications during racing using state of the art technology platforms, including more onboard footage and mobile applications. Through this, the sailors’ extraordinary stories from the high seas can be better conveyed, thereby secure more following and media attention.

A new World Champion is crowned every fouryears, at the end of IMOCA Globe Series races.

To become World Champion, a skipper will need to have accumulated the most points in the IMOCA Globe Series events over the preceding four years, these events each having a coefficient based on their difficulty.

Value of points awarded in the IMOCA world championship:

  • IMOCA Globe Series 2018-2021 program is as follows:
    • Monaco Globe Series (1-8 June 2018) : double-handed, coefficient 2
    • Route du Rhum-Destination Guadeloupe (start 4 November 2018) : solo-handed, coefficient 4
    • Race announced in June 2018 (start spring 2019): double-handed, coefficient 2
    • Transat Jacques-Vabre (start October/November 2019) : double-handed, coefficient 3
    • The Transat (start May 10, 2020): solo-handed, coefficient 4
    • New York-Vendée (start June 2020): solo-handed, coefficient 4
    • Vendée Globe (start 8 November 2020) : solo-handed, coefficient 10

IMOCA Champions

IMOCA champions have proved through their results, that they are great sailors and skilled racers, but also experts in weather, as when we are talking about IMOCA races, routing and external assistance are forbidden. They also need to be successful business leaders, as they have to set up their projects, work with the top specialists in their field and manage their teams, before they find themselves alone facing the elements. Skippers claim that a solo win is something that is prepared by crew racing and they know how to share their passion for ocean racing, their happy and sometimes sad adventures both with those around them and the general public. The means of communication that are installed on board help them in this role as communicators and mean that today they are certainly not remote, while at the same time are champions.

Current Rankings

Legal information | Site map      ©2012-2018 Azimut Communication - Website design & Interactive kiosks  - design based on v1 by OC Sport