Transat Jacques Vabre


Imoca Globe Series championship event
© Free to use for all editorial in conjunction with 11th Hour Racing coverage. For questions contact i
© ©Maxime Horlaville/ polaRYSE / CORUM l'épargne
© © Jean-Louis Carli/Alea
Start date


FormatDouble handed
Distance5800 milles (parcours IMOCA 2021)
Race trackLe Havre - La Martinique
Race directorFrancis Le Goff
OrganizerAssociation Transat Jacques Vabre
IMOCA reference time2020 - Le Havre-Salvador (Brazil) - Charlie Dalin & Yann Eliès (APIVIA) 13j 12h 08min 00s


Created in 1993 and harking back to the history of the major trade routes from centuries past, the Transat Jacques Vabre quickly made a name for itself as an unmissable event. It is held every two years and has been contested double-handed since 1995. Historically linked to the city of Le Havre, the first edition of the Coffee Route finished in Cartagena in Colombia. The race has had various destinations since that time: Salvador de Bahia in Brazil, then Puerto Limon in Costa Rica and Itajai in Brazil, before returning to Salvador since 2017.

In 2021, for the first time in its history, the finish of the Transat Jacques Vabre will be hosted in the Caribbean in Martinique. A new course has been set up for the different categories of participating boats. The IMOCA boats, which will cover 5800 miles (10,700km), will have to sail around the Brazilian archipelago of Fernando de Noronha and then up towards Fort de France, the finishing city.

In 2019, twenty-nine IMOCA boats will be taking part in the Route du Café, including several of the latest generation boats; an unprecedented line-up heading for Salvador de Bahia in Brazil. This edition highlighted the performance of the foilers that had just come out of the yard a few months earlier, but also the variety and sporting level of the tandems. The duo of Charlie Dalin and Yann Eliès is the winner of this 14th edition aboard APIVIA.